4 TN Soccer Club teams win state

4 TN Soccer Club teams win state

Franklin Home Page news reports

Tennessee Soccer Club, the new select soccer organization combined from TNFC and Brentwood Soccer Club, won state titles in the top three Division I boys age groups and a DII title in U14.

Tennessee Soccer Club, the new select soccer organization combined from the former Franklin-based Tennessee Futbol Club and Brentwood Soccer Club, won state championships in the top three Division I boys age groups and a DII title in U14 boys.

All the teams will advance from last week’s state championships at Siegel Park in Murfreesboro into the Region III Southern tournament June 20-27 in Edmond, Okla., with a shot at making nationals. Girls teams and younger boys age groups will play for Tennessee Soccer state championships in the spring.

TSC not only took first but also third place in DI U16 with another team, plus placed third in DI U15 with Tennessee Soccer Club 2016 beating Tennessee United Soccer Club 3-2 and going 1-1 in pool play.


U-18 boys DI

Blake Chidester, a rising senior on Brentwood High School’s boys state championship team, and Malcolm Mountenot scored goals in the TSC 2013 team’s 2-0 finals win over Harpeth ’95 Chelsea Elite.

Franklin High School’s Ben Norris and Moutenot (pictured right) are captains for the team, which notched its sixth straight state title out of the combined organizations. Coach is Bryan Johnson.

Other team members include keeper Matt Churitch of BHS, Bobby Williams, Josh Wild of BHS, Cameron Kerper, Brandon Lopez, Austin Thomas, Conner Quiggle, Tyler Long, Noah Mudd, Jackson Boonstra,  Taylor Collins, Josh Russell, Nick Williams, Jacob Smith and James Togbah.

Tennessee Soccer Club 2013 didn’t give up a goal in the tournament, also winning 2-0 in pool play over Tennessee United ’95 Red and over East Ridge.

U-17 boys DI

Tennessee Soccer Club’s 2014 U17 boys team bested tough teams from Memphis, Chattanooga and Murfreesboro for its fourth straight title. The team previously played under the BWSC banner.

The team rallied back from a contentious match and a 1-1 tie in Friday night’s game against the East Ridge Express that left TSC without a regular goalie for Saturday’s game, and needing to win their next game by four goals to advance.  A motivated team beat the Murfreesboro Strikers 4-0 Saturday on goals by Carson East and Franklin High’s Jimmy Wester, Brad Ross and Daniel Enciso. 

Sunday’s game pitted TSC against perennial rivals Collierville ’96 Lobos Rush Blue, for a game dominated by strong winds and physical play. TSC defender Austin Petrovich, from Brentwood High, scored on a free kick from near midfield into the upper 90 for a 1-0 finals victory.

Pictured are, from left: Front row, Kyle Johannes (Centennial), Brady Morgan, A.J. Smith, Josh Keller (Centennial), Kenny Harasawa (Brentwood), Trevor Skeith, Cole McKechnie (Brentwood); back row, Coach Kenny Heckman, Drew Collins (Franklin), Pablo Martinez, Allister Berger (Franklin), Chase Wallace (Independence), East, Ross (Franklin), Wester (Franklin), Zach Keller (Centennial), Parker Lamb (Franklin), Petrovich (Brentwood) and Enciso (Franklin).

U16 boys DI

The champions tied the other TSC 2015 team 1-1 and beat the Collierville ’97 Lobos Rush Blue 4-0 in group play. TSC 2015 Premier won a penalty-kick shootout by 4-1 to advance to the state finals.

Members of the state championship travel team are Behnam Alinejad and Jonathan Velez from Ravenwood; Jacob Brown from Franklin High; Jacob Haddad and Julien Tremblay from Battle Ground Academy; Will Khomtchenko and John Pettit from Brentwood High; Jacon Metkler from Page; Sam Pietrzak and Matt Seltz from Centennial; Walker Hagan and Harrison Meyers from Christ Presbyterian Academy; Bret Thomas from Summit High; Troy Hippensteel; Alex Morris; Harrison Renner; and Austin Willis.

The TSC 2015 team finished third, winning 5-0 over Collierville in its other group game and beating FC Alliance ERFC 2-1 in the consolation.

U14 boys DII

Jim Roebuck scored two goals and Cameron King added another to help the Tennessee Soccer Club 2017 Elite capture the U14 Division II championship, 3-1 over Collierville ’99 Lobos Rush White.

Pictured are from left: Top row, Coach Randy Johnson, Roebuck (Woodland Middle), Meyer Makemson (Heritage), Spencer Layland (Woodland), John Victor Casali (Spring Station), Colton Heyen (Page), Rayaan Bashir (Brentwood), King (Brentwood), Addison Norris (Grassland), Andy Knight (Woodland);  bottom row, Justin Cox (FRA), Jacob Day (Grassland), Harrison Davis (Woodland), Nick Burns (Page), Elijah Gaddes (Grassland). Not pictured: Katzutaka Nobori (Page).

TSC 2017 Elite also beat TUSC ’99 Red 4-3 and UCUSC Arsenal 3-0.

Tennessee Soccer Club 2017, another U14 team, made the Division I state tournament but went 0-2 in group play.

About The Author

Kelly Gilfillan is the owner-publisher of Home Page Media Group which has been publishing hyperlocal news since 2009.

Related posts

Leave a Reply